Contribution weekend-An initiative

Everyone who signs up for Firefox Student Ambassador (FSA) program stay idle for some time in general to learn about contributions and start contributing to Mozilla. I joined the FSA program in the month of March. I didn’t do anything till June. In June, I was introduced to the community and contribution via Mozilla Madurai meetup. Many people have been like this. I wanted to make sure that the upcoming FSAs will not waste their time like I did.So I took the initiative of helping out new FSAs. I did it by creating an online event. The newly signed up FSAs have to register in the event and they get 24 hours to chat with the existing contributors. This will be conducted in the second week of every month from Saturday 12.00 – Sunday 12.00 (in 24 hour format). Therefore, the FSAs can ask queries anytime round the clock in which they are available and so do the contributors. The chat history will be made available in etherpad for the next two weeks. By doing so, the maximum time that a FSA has to wait for instructions will be reduced to 2 weeks. So all the FSAs can start their contributions within two weeks of their sign up procedure. Therefore, they don’t waste their time and can do something soon. I have planned to continue this every month and make it a completely useful and awesome event soon. Below is the link to the etherpad of my first event. Take a look.

Etherpad link : https://public.etherpad-mozilla.org/p/contribution_weekend

2 thoughts on “Contribution weekend-An initiative

Leave a comment